Pages

Ticker

Lilypie Kids Birthday tickers

June 29, 2010

A Day in the Life at A&B Enterprises

I have read that having a predictable schedule helps children grow and learn, that consistency fosters their intellectual development. Of course I’m all about intellectual development…and I’m all about preserving my sanity, too! Particularly with multiples, I think a schedule is key to keeping this Mommy sane!

[Warning: Following is an excruciatingly-detailed account of our day...read at your own risk! Or skip to the bottom for a few reflections...]

5:50-ish…wake up and force myself out of bed.
6:00 - 6:15...quick check of the computer, empty dishwasher, girls start to “talk” in their room.
6:15 - 6:30…eat breakfast with Hubby – either cereal, or bagels from Panera if we’re lucky.
6:30…start making the girls’ breakfast – scrambled egg, oatmeal or cream of wheat, diced banana and blueberries.
6:45…go upstairs with Hubby to get the girls up.
6:45 - 7:00…snuggle with the girls in their room and change their diapers.
7:00…feed the girls breakfast.
7:15…put the girls in the den to play quietly, while Mommy cleans up, has some coffee and enjoys some computer time (I put the laptop on the kitchen table so I can see the girls in the den).
*7:45…put the girls back in their highchairs for milk.
8:00 - 9:00…spend time with the girls in the den – we read lots of books, play with blocks, look out the window, dance, sing…you name it.

*...or don shorts and sunscreen the girls’ legs for a walk with fellow-twin Mom Krista and her girls, and give the girls milk when we get home around 8:45.

9:00…wash the girls’ faces and put them down for their morning nap.
9:00 - 9:30…Mommy takes a shower and makes herself beautiful for the day (who am I kidding? I would need a heck of a lot longer than 30 minutes to pull that off!).
9:30 - 10:50…do some laundry, cook some veggies for the girls, prep for supper, and chill as time allows.
10:50…prepare the girls’ lunch – usually two vegetables and some fresh fruit.
11:00 - 11:15…go upstairs and get the girls up from their nap; sometimes they wake up as early as 10:30 and “talk”, but occasionally they’ll sleep until 11:15 or so; I don’t let them sleep longer than 11:30.
11:30…feed the girls lunch.
*12:00…put the girls in the den to play quietly, while Mommy cleans up, eats a sandwich, and has some computer time.
1:00…spend time with the girls in the den.

*…or get the girls dressed and head out on the town. We sometimes meet one of my girlfriends for lunch; or we might run an errand, like to the bank or the post office; or we might go walk around the mall or the bookstore; or we occasionally go to Sonic and sit outside and enjoy a little ice cream. I try not to get the girls out every day...I want them to know we don’t *have* to get out and about to “pass the day”…but there are times when Mama needs some fresh air! I try to be back home by 2:00.

2:00…put the girls back in their highchairs for milk, often with a few crackers or half a cereal bar.
2:30 - 3:00…put the girls down for their afternoon nap.

3:00 - 3:50…listen to the girls “talk” instead of nap. I think Baby B would nap during this time, but Baby A seems ready to move to one nap. I’m trying to hit a balance between the two, but I’m sure it won’t be long before we make that transition. I try to rest during this time. I like to watch a little TV, or sometimes I’ll try to nap for 30 minutes.
3:50…prepare the girls’ supper – usually a meat, a veggie, and a fruit, followed by bread or crackers and juice.
4:00 - 4:15…go upstairs and get the girls up from their nap; after quite a bit of conversation, the girls will often fall asleep, at least for a few minutes; I don’t let them sleep longer than 4:30.
4:30…feed the girls supper.
5:00…put the girls in the den to play quietly while Hubby and I eat supper. I try to time our supper to be ready at this time – either a crock pot meal, or a roast or casserole I put in the oven an hour earlier, or I heat up leftovers or made-ahead meals.
*5:45 - 6:45…Hubby and I spend time with the girls in the den. Sometimes he plays with them while I do a few chores.

*…or give the girls a bath every other night.

6:45…take the girls upstairs for a cup of milk, stories, and cuddles.
7:15 - 7:30…wash the girls’ faces, brush their teeth, and put them to bed.



After I put the girls to bed, I usually enjoy some computer time, catch up on chores, and occasionally watch some TV. If I didn’t make it out with the girls for a walk during the day, I might head out for a run. I also do my grocery shopping once or twice a week after the girls are in bed. Occasionally I might meet a girlfriend or two for coffee.

After I graduated college, I wasn’t much of a night owl. These days, after dark is “my time”. KNOCK ON WOOD, our girls sleep very soundly, so I’m basically “off the clock” at 7:30. I often stay up much later than I should…but I just love the peace and quiet.

It’s hard for me to pick a favorite part of the day…I love getting the girls up in the mornings and cuddling with them and Hubby in their room. I love playing with them in the mornings, because everyone is fresh and open. I love taking them for a walk and pointing out all the comings and goings…and peering through the stroller canopy and seeing them holding hands or playing footsie. I love putting them down for a nap and seeing Baby B start to suck her thumb the moment she gets her blankey. I love feeding them when they eat well (which is most of the time)…I’m always so proud when they eat a good meal. I love getting out and about with them, and especially indulging in the occasional ice cream treat. I love playing with them and Hubby after supper, the four of us, together. I love snuggling with them while they have their cup of milk, and reading their bedtime story. And I especially love the last cuddles as I put them in their cribs. So yeah, it’s hard for me to narrow things down. :)

My least favorite time of the day is probably between 1:30 and 2:00. I feel like I hit a slump then, when I feel like I really should be engaging the girls.

I didn’t originally plan to answer this Question of the Week from Multiples & More, but it’s been so much fun to read others’ responses. I love getting a glimpse into the everyday lives of other families. And as I step back to look at our day, I would like to incorporate more outside play. Honestly, sunscreen is my biggest challenge! It is such a chore to lube up two squirming babies! We’re planning to get a swing set for our backyard within the next year, so I know I’ll get better in this department. But for now, I probably need to schedule more time at the park.

I’ve seen this quote on several blogs – “The days are long, but the years are short.” Unknown. Oh, how true it is! There are days when I think naptime will never come, when I’ve changed six poopy diapers by 9:00am, and it’s raining and we can’t get out of the house. But then I glance up and it’s somehow three months later. Thank goodness for picture evidence, because I might otherwise think I’d been caught in a time warp.

3 comments:

Cuz I'm the mama! said...

Very interesting to read about your day. It sounds like we have a similar schedule. My girls are only 9 1/2 months and I was wondering when they would go to one nap/day. I have one babe who seems ready now, but the other sleeps on cue. Oh the beauty of figuring it out with two!!

Amanda said...

http://www.opotion.com/pages/protection-kids50can.html
This stuff is great when you're in a hurry!
We play outside A LOT and it makes me more inclined to not slack on the sunscreen. ;)
Love your blog...you have got the schedule down girl! Way to go Supermomma!

northsidefour said...

Memories!Exhausting memories! The transition to one nap was hard, very hard, as it happened over lunch time, very difficult for one who loved lunch but was too tired to eat. As for sunscreen, and I understand this, we have very fair children, I love the wipes, especially for faces. I spray them now, but always use the wipes on their faces. Find them here: http://www.smallflower.com/shady-day-inc/sunscreen-wipes-spf-30-15-wipes.html.
Enjoy your summer!